CAREER: In A Rut? Words of Wisdom From Your Favourite People.

So maybe you aren’t a rockstar or property magnate. Maybe your definition of success is the simple pleasures, not a 7 figure salary.

These short and sweet or amazingly insightful quotes from some of your favourite celebrities, businessmen and public figures may just hit the right note. Because sometimes all you need is a little perspective..

KEEP GOING: Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work. – STEPHEN KING

My parents raised me to never feel like I was entitled to success, that you have to work for it.- TAYLOR SWIFT

Opportunities are usually disguised as hard work, so most people don’t recognize them. –ANN LANDERS

GIVE YOURSELF A BREAK: A lot of young actors have the idea that, “I’ve got to do this right. There’s a right way to do this.” But there’s no right or wrong. There’s only good and bad. And “bad” usually happens when you’re trying too hard to do it right. – ROBERT DE NIRO

INVEST IN YOUR FUTURE: “It’s important to save your money … It used to be that people would be proud of the fact that they were middle class. You’d have your church and buy a house and you had a car and everything else. Now, it’s really, really tough. Everybody has financial issues except for the one percent.” – MICHAEL DOUGLAS

BE KIND TO YOURSELF: “I heard that someone asked Mother Teresa what was most important in her work. I thought she’d say the Rosary but she said, ‘My nuns and I take very good care of ourselves so we can tend to the lepers and do whatever we need to assist.’ If you’re strong, or at least not hurting, you can inspire others.” – VALERIE HARPER

DEFINE WHAT SUCCESS MEANS TO YOU: “Success? I don’t know what that word means. I’m happy. But success, that goes back to what in somebody’s eyes success means. For me, success is inner peace. That’s a good day for me.” – DENZEL WASHINGTON

I can never be safe. I always try and go against the grain. As soon as I accomplish one thing, I just set a higher goal. That’s how I’ve gotten to where I am.- BEYONCE

DON’T STOP: “If you fall out of favor, you quickly stop being part of the conversation. But it can take one great project to turn things around. All you need is one hit or one great idea well-executed, and everybody’s talking about you again.” –CHRIS O’DONNELL

“If someone’s not attacking you that means you’re not doing your job effectively.” –SEAN HANNITY

“When I was 15, I left school to start a magazine, and it became a success because I wouldn’t take no for an answer. I remember banging on James Baldwin’s door to ask for an interview when he came to England. Then I got Jean-Paul Sartre’s home phone number and asked him to contribute. If I’d been 30, he might have said no, but I was a 15-year-old with passion and he was charmed. Making money was always just a side product of having a good time and creating things nobody’d seen before.” – RICHARD BRANSON

CHECK IN WITH YOURSELF: “Why am I doing the work I’m doing? Why am I friends with this person? Am I living the best life I possibly can? Questions are often looked upon as questions of doubt but I don’t see it that way at all. I question things to stay present, to make sure I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing.” – JOSEPH GORDON-LEVITT

DON’T FORGET TO LAUGH: Adults are always asking little kids what they want to be when they grow up because they’re looking for ideas. – PAULA POUNDSTONE

Researchers at Harvard say that taking a power nap for an hour in the afternoon can totally refresh you. They say that by the time you wake up you’ll feel so good, you’ll be able to start looking for a new job.- JAY LENO

The one important thing I have learned over the years is the difference between taking one’s work seriously and taking one’s self seriously. The first is imperative and the second is disastrous. – MARGO FONTEYN

 

Courtesy: CARLTON’S CORNER / FORBES / MARIE CLAIRE UK

Image: Pinterest / Design: Zoya Pon

